Under the Collector are the Prant Officers who are either Assistant Collectors (I.A.S. Officers) or District Deputy Collectors (Maharashtra Civil Service, Class I). There are in all six prants or sub-divisions in the district which are in charge of Sub-Divisional Officers.

Deputy Collectors at Headquarters.-There are four Deputy Collectors at the district headquarters for purposes of administration. Their designations are as follows:-

1. Resident Deputy Collector and Additional District Magistrate;

2. Leave Reserve Deputy Collector;

3. Land Acquisition Officer; and

4. Deputy Collector for Tenancy Law.

The Prant Officers form the connecting link between the Tahsildars, and the Collector. A Prant Officer exercises all the powers conferred on the Collector by the Maharashtra Land Revenue Code and any other law in force or by executive orders in regard to the tahsils in his charge, except such powers as the Collector may specially reserve to himself.